March Madness: Ten Tourney Trivia Tidbits

The Division I Men’s Basketball Championship is one of the most popular sporting events in the U.S.

Forget about getting any B2B work done during the tournament; everybody is too busy watching the games and betting on them. Here is the tournament TV schedule if you are interested.

To celebrate the occasion, I pulled together 10 tournament trivia tidbits.

  1. The first tournament took place in 1939. Oregon won, beating Ohio State 46-33. Evanston, Illinois hosted the final game — home of my alma mater, Northwestern University. Ironically, Northwestern has never earned an NCAA tourney bid. GRR.
  2. The tournament expanded to 64 teams in 1985.
  3. The tournament expanded to 68 teams in 2011.
  4. In 1939, guess how many teams played? Eight: Ohio State, Wake Forest, Villanova, Brown, Oklahoma, Utah State, Oregon and Texas.
  5. The odds of randomly picking a perfect NCAA tournament bracket are 1 in 9,223,372,036,854,775,808, or about nine quintillion to one. Nine quintillion is even bigger than the U.S. budget deficit (as of this writing) and my to-do list.
  6. The #1 seed has never lost to the #16 seed in the entire history of the tournament.
  7. Believe it or not, slam dunking was banned in 1968 … but reinstated in 1977.
  8. Most points scored in a game: 149, by Loyola Marymount in 1990.
  9. Fewest points scored in a game: 20, by North Carolina in 1941.
  10. Most personal fouls in a game: 41, Dayton versus Illinois in 1952.

B2B Insights